Focuses on a broad spectrum of electrical engineering materials at the undergraduate and postgraduate level. This book explains magnetic materials, semiconductors, semiconductor devices, superconductors, and insulating materials.
Real-world engineering problems are rarely, if ever, neatly divided into mechanical, electrical, chemical, civil, and other categories. Engineers from all disciplines eventually encounter computer and electronic controls and instrumentation, which require at least a basic knowledge of electrical and other engineering specialties, as well as associa
This popular, world-wide selling textbook teaches engineering mathematics in a step-by-step fashion and uniquely through engineering examples and exercises which apply the techniques right from their introduction. This contextual use of mathematics is highly motivating, as with every topic and each new page students see the importance and relevance of mathematics in engineering. The examples are taken from mechanics, aerodynamics, electronics, engineering, fluid dynamics and other areas. While being general and accessible for all students, they also highlight how mathematics works in any individual's engineering discipline. The material is often praised for its careful pace, and the author pauses to ask questions to keep students reflecting. Proof of mathematical results is kept to a minimum. Instead the book develops learning by investigating results, observing patterns, visualizing graphs and answering questions using technology. This textbook is ideal for first year undergraduates and those on pre-degree courses in Engineering (all disciplines) and Science.
Automatic Control Systems provides engineers with a fresh new controls book that places special emphasis on mechatronics. It follows a revolutionary approach by actually including a physical lab. In addition, readers will find authoritative coverage of modern design tools and examples. Current mechatronics applications build motivation to learn the material. Extensive use of virtual lab software is also integrated throughout the chapters. Engineers will gain a strong understand of control systems with the help of modern examples and exercises.
The integration of electronic engineering, mechanical engineering, control and computer engineering - Mechatronics - lies at the heart of the innumerable gadgets, processes and technology without which modern life would seem impossible. From auto-focus cameras to car engine management systems, and from state-of-the-art robots to the humble washing machine, Mechatronics has a hand in them all.
Power Electronics Handbook, Fourth Edition, brings together over 100 years of combined experience in the specialist areas of power engineering to offer a fully revised and updated expert guide to total power solutions. Designed to provide the best technical and most commercially viable solutions available, this handbook undertakes any or all aspects of a project requiring specialist design, installation, commissioning and maintenance services. Comprising a complete revision throughout and enhanced chapters on semiconductor diodes and transistors and thyristors, this volume includes renewable resource content useful for the new generation of engineering professionals. This market leading reference has new chapters covering electric traction theory and motors and wide band gap (WBG) materials and devices. With this book in hand, engineers will be able to execute design, analysis and evaluation of assigned projects using sound engineering principles and adhering to the business policies and product/program requirements. Includes a list of leading international academic and professional contributors Offers practical concepts and developments for laboratory test plans Includes new technical chapters on electric vehicle charging and traction theory and motors Includes renewable resource content useful for the new generation of engineering professionals
Our book, "Solar PV System: Design, Installation, Operation and Maintenance," describes the concepts of the Solar PV system which is considered an important alternative to fossil fuels. As UN SDG points out, the implementation of clean and affordable renewable energy is becoming more sustainable and progressive. The authors have addressed the basic concepts of Solar PV systems and the design of PV systems, including several real-world examples. The book will be of great benefit to solar energy management professionals, PV troubleshooting engineers, consultants, professors, students, and industry experts.
Fundamentals of Power Electronics, Third Edition, is an up-to-date and authoritative text and reference book on power electronics. This new edition retains the original objective and philosophy of focusing on the fundamental principles, models, and technical requirements needed for designing practical power electronic systems while adding a wealth of new material. Improved features of this new edition include: new material on switching loss mechanisms and their modeling; wide bandgap semiconductor devices; a more rigorous treatment of averaging; explanation of the Nyquist stability criterion; incorporation of the Tan and Middlebrook model for current programmed control; a new chapter on digital control of switching converters; major new chapters on advanced techniques of design-oriented analysis including feedback and extra-element theorems; average current control; new material on input filter design; new treatment of averaged switch modeling, simulation, and indirect power; and sampling effects in DCM, CPM, and digital control. Fundamentals of Power Electronics, Third Edition, is intended for use in introductory power electronics courses and related fields for both senior undergraduates and first-year graduate students interested in converter circuits and electronics, control systems, and magnetic and power systems. It will also be an invaluable reference for professionals working in power electronics, power conversion, and analog and digital electronics.
This textbook provides an excellent focus on the advanced topics of the power system protection philosophy and gives exciting analysis methods and a cover of the important applications in the power systems relaying. Each chapter opens with a historical profile or career talk, followed by an introduction that states the chapter objectives and links the chapter to the previous ones, and then the introduction for each chapter. All principles are presented in a lucid, logical, step-by-step approach. As much as possible, the authors avoid wordiness and detail overload that could hide concepts and impede understanding. In each chapter, the authors present some of the solved examples and applications using a computer program. Toward the end of each chapter, the authors discuss some application aspects of the concepts covered in the chapter using a computer program. In recognition of requirements by the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) on integrating computer tools, the use of SCADA technology is encouraged in a student-friendly manner. SCADA technology using the Lucas-Nulle GmbH system is introduced and applied gradually throughout the book. Practice problems immediately follow each illustrative example. Students can follow the example step by step to solve the practice problems without flipping pages or looking at the book's end for answers. These practice problems test students' comprehension and reinforce key concepts before moving on to the next section. Power System Protection and Relaying: Computer-Aided Design Using SCADA Technology is intended as a textbook for a senior-level undergraduate student in electrical and computer engineering departments and is appropriate for graduate students, industry professionals, researchers, and academics. The book has more than ten categories and millions of power readers. It can be used in more than 400 electrical engineering departments at top universities worldwide. Based on this information, targeted lists of the engineers from specific disciplines including electrical, computer, power control, technical power system, protection, design, and distribution engineers. Designed for a three-hours semester course on "power system protection and relaying," the prerequisite for a course based on this book are knowledge of standard mathematics, including calculus and complex numbers.
Engineering Management: Meeting the Global Challenges prepares engineers to fulfill their managerial responsibilities, acquire useful business perspectives, and take on the much-needed leadership roles to meet the challenges in the new millennium. Value addition, customer focus, and business perspectives are emphasized throughout. Also underlined are discussions of leadership attributes, steps to acquire these attributes, the areas engineering managers are expected to add value, the web-based tools which can be aggressively applied to develop and sustain competitive advantages, the opportunities offered by market expansion into global regions, and the preparations required for engineering managers to become global leaders. The book is organized into three major sections: functions of engineering management, business fundamentals for engineering managers, and engineering management in the new millennium. This second edition refocuses on the new strategy for science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) professionals and managers to meet the global challenges through the creation of strategic differentiation and operational excellence. Major revisions include a new chapter on creativity and innovation, a new chapter on operational excellence, and combination of the chapters on financial accounting and financial management. The design strategy for this second edition strives for achieving the T-shaped competencies, with both broad-based perspectives and in-depth analytical skills. Such a background is viewed as essential for STEM professionals and managers to exert a strong leadership role in the dynamic and challenging marketplace. The material in this book will surely help engineering managers play key leadership roles in their organizations by optimally applying their combined strengths in engineering and management.
Completely updated to reflect the 2017 National Electrical Code#65533;, the Fifth Edition of this user-friendly, practical guide features thorough, current coverage of grounding and bonding requirements in both Article 250 and Chapter 5 of the NEC#65533;. Full of clear explanations, real-world examples, and vibrant, full-color illustrations, this trusted text will help you master and apply key electrical concepts, such as calculating conductor sizes, reading and interpreting NEC tables, using grounded conductor connections in AC systems, managing installations and sizing, and applying "green" practices for energy efficiency and environmental sustainability. Whether you are pursuing a degree program, professional training, or an apprenticeship (e.g., Independent Electrical Contractors, electrical training ALLIANCE, former NJATC courses), you can count on this must-have resource to prepare you for career success.
Examine the basic concepts behind today's power systems as well as the tools you need to apply your newly acquired skills to real-world situations with POWER SYSTEM ANALYSIS AND DESIGN, SI, 7th Edition. The latest updates throughout this new edition reflect the most recent trends in the field as the authors highlight key physical concepts with clear explanations of important mathematical techniques. New co-author Adam Birchfield joins this prominent author team with fresh insights into the latest technological advancements. The authors develop theory and modeling from simple beginnings, clearly demonstrating how you can apply the principles you learn to new, more complex situations. New learning objectives and helpful case study summaries help focus your learning, while the updated PowerWorld� Simulation works seamlessly with this edition's content to provide hands-on design experience. WebAssign for Glover/Overbye/Sarma's Power System Analysis and Design, SI, 7th Edition, helps you prepare for class with confidence. Its online learning platform for your math, statistics, science and engineering courses helps you practice and absorb what you learn.
The Smart Grid has the potential to revolutionize electricity delivery systems, and the security of its infrastructure is a vital concern not only for cyber-security practitioners, engineers, policy makers, and utility executives, but also for the media and consumers. Smart Grid Security: An End-to-End View of Security in the New Electrical Grid ex
